The national health system of the Dominican Republic reaches only about half the population and has a high urban-rural disparity. The majority of the inhabitants of the Dominican Republic live in urban areas (78%) (World Bank 2016). In these areas, in addition to state hospitals, the so-called “hospitales”, there are also private hospitals known as “clinics”. The care in private hospitals is of good quality, but for most Dominicans it is not financially manageable. In the state hospitals, on the other hand, the services are relatively cheap and accessible to all people, yet the poorer sections of the population only have difficult access to medicines. In rural areas of the Dominican Republic there is a lack of medical care and personnel (Rathé & Moliné 2011, Canario et al. 2016). In 2008, the nationwide doctor-patient ratio was 1.3/1,000 and the nurse-patient ratio 0.25/1,000 (in comparison, Germany has 95.2 nurses per 1,000 patients (Aiken et al. 2012/2014)). The majority of the older population over the age of 65 is not covered by social security systems, which poses major challenges for the health and social services (Medrano et al. 2014, Falk et al. 2017). At the same time, pension coverage in the Dominican Republic is very low and older Dominicans often live in precarious housing conditions (Prince et al. 2008). 11.7% of over-65s are dependent on support and care. Globally, these figures are expected to increase significantly in the coming years, especially in low and middle income countries (WHO 2018). On average, people have to spend 30% of their income on care services. There is currently no social support system for carers in the DR (Sousa et al. 2009).

According to the WHO, 42% of years of life lost are due to communicable diseases and 42% to non-communicable diseases (Boslaugh 2013). Among the most urgent health problems in the Dominican Republic are malnutrition and lack of access to clean (drinking) water, especially for young children in rural areas, as well as infectious diseases such as diarrhoea, pneumonia and HIV/AIDS. The number of HIV-infected adults aged 15 to 49 is currently around 67,000 (0.9% of the population, [51,000 – 91,000]) in the DR and 150,000 (1.9% of the population, [140,000 – 170,000]) in Haiti (UNAIDS 2017).

However, rising life expectancy also makes noncommunicable diseases such as dementia a global problem for the health system and its service providers. The same applies to diabetes, depression, musculoskeletal disorders, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, obesity (30% of the population), hypertension and other cardiovascular diseases (Sousa et al. 2009, Canario et al. 2016). The collective term dementia (ICD-10-Code F00-F03) describes chronic diseases of the brain that coincide with a creeping decline in cognitive, emotional and social abilities. Although prevalence rates in low and middle-income countries are currently lower than in high-income countries, the number of people affected in these countries is expected to rise disproportionately in the future due to the rapid ageing of the population (Prince et al. 2015). Of the approximately 9.9 million new cases per year, 63% are recorded in low and middle-income countries. According to WHO (2017), the number of people with dementia worldwide will rise to about 251 million by 2050 (WHO 2017). This expected increase will hit countries with health systems that are unprepared and underfunded particularly hard (Rodriguez et al. 2008). Especially in countries with low incomes, a high number of HIV-associated dementias must also be expected. Although the incidence of HIV-associated dementias has fallen slightly in recent years in the DR, the number of people affected remains high due to a lack of use of drug therapies and a high prevalence of infections (Rosca et al. 2012).
Another problem is the relationship between dementia and weight loss, which increases the risk of mortality. A comparison of prevalence data on weight loss and dementia showed that the Dominican Republic had the highest prevalence in the comparison group with 26%, while China had the lowest prevalence (2%) (Albanese et al. 2013). Other classical dementia symptoms are also important. In addition to limitations in orientation and behavioural changes with increasing life expectancy, these also include multimorbidity and limitations in the area of physical activity, including fall problems. Currently, only very few studies from low and middle-income countries can be used for this purpose, which clearly shows the increased need for research (Llibre Rodríguez 2013, Arinzechi et al. 2016).

Since the health and social system of the Dominican Republic is fully available to only a few inhabitants, the families and the social environment have to bear the burden of caring for the sick. This creates a high burden within the family structures. In particular, the occurrence of stress, anxiety and depression is increasingly described. In addition to the lack of support from the health system, the main problem is the lack of outpatient and local support services (Medrano et al. 2014).

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Gesundheitswesen

Das nationale Gesundheitssystem der Dominikanischen Republik erreicht nur knapp die Hälfte der Bevölkerung und weist ein hohes Stadt-Land Gefälle auf. Die Mehrheit der Einwohner der Dominikanische Republik lebt in städtischen Gebieten (78%) (Weltbank 2016). In diesen Gebieten gibt es neben den staatlichen Krankenhäusern, den sogenannten “Hospitales”, auch private Krankenhäuser, die als “Clinicas” bezeichnet werden. Die Versorgung in privaten Krankenhäusern ist von guter Qualität, aber für die meisten Dominikanerinnen und Donimikaner finanziell nicht zu bewältigen. In den staatlichen Krankenhäusern dagegen sind die Leistungen relativ günstig und für alle Menschen zugänglich, trotzdem haben die ärmeren Bevölkerungsschichten nur einen erschwerten Zugang zu Medikamenten. In ländlichen Gebieten der Dominikanischen Republik mangelt es an medizinischen Versorgungsmöglichkeiten und Personal (Rathé & Moliné 2011, Canario et al. 2016). Im Jahr 2008 betrug das landesweite Arzt/Patienten Verhältnis 1,3/1.000 und das Verhältnis Pflegekraft/Patient 0,25/1.000 (im Vergleich dazu kommen in Deutschland auf 1.000 Patienten 95,2 Pflegekräfte (Aiken et al. 2012/2014)). Die Mehrheit der älteren Bevölkerung über 65 Jahre ist nicht über Sozialversicherungssysteme abgesichert, was das Gesundheits- und Sozialwesen vor große Herausforderungen stellt (Medrano et al. 2014, Falk et al. 2017). Gleichzeitig ist die Rentenabdeckung in der Dominikanischen Republik sehr gering und so leben ältere Dominikaner und Dominikanerinnen häufig in prekären Wohnverhältnissen (Prince et al. 2008). 11,7% der über 65-Jährigen sind auf Unterstützung und Pflege angewiesen. Es wird, global, davon ausgegangen, dass diese Zahlen vor allem in den Ländern mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen in den nächsten Jahren erheblich ansteigen werden (WHO 2018). Im Durchschnitt müssen die Menschen 30% ihres Einkommens für Pflegeleistungen ausgeben. In der DR gibt es derzeit kein soziales Unterstützungssystem für Pflegende Angehörige (Sousa et al. 2009).

Laut WHO sind 42% der verlorenen Lebensjahre (years of life lost) auf übertragbare und 42% auf nicht übertragbare Krankheiten zurückzuführen (Boslaugh 2013). Zu den dringendsten Gesundheitsproblemen der Dominikanischen Republik gehören Unterernährung und fehlender Zugang zu sauberem (Trink-)Wasser, insbesondere bei Kleinkindern in ländlichen Gebieten, sowie Infektionskrankheiten wie Durchfall, Lungenentzündung und HIV/AIDS. Die Anzahl der HIV-Infizierten Erwachsenen im Alter von 15 bis 49 Jahren liegt in der DR derzeit bei rund 67.000 (0,9% der Bevölkerung, [51.000 – 91.000]), in Haiti bei 150.000 (1,9% der Bevölkerung, [140.000 – 170.000]) Fällen (UNAIDS 2017).

Die steigende Lebenserwartung macht aber auch nichtübertragbare Krankheiten wie demenzielle Veränderungen zu einem globalen Problem für das Gesundheitssystem und seine Leistungserbringer. Gleiches gilt für Diabetes, Depressionen, Erkrankungen des Bewegungs- apparates, chronisch obstruktive Lungenerkrankungen, Übergewicht (30% der Bevölkerung), Bluthochdruck und andere kardiovaskuläre Erkrankungen (Sousa et al. 2009, Canario et al. 2016). Der Sammelbegriff Demenz (ICD-10-Code F00-F03) beschreibt chronische Erkrankungen des Gehirns, die mit einem schleichenden Verfall kognitiver, emotionaler und sozialer Fähigkeiten zusammenfallen. In Ländern mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen sind die Prävalenzraten zwar momentan niedriger als in einkommensstarken Ländern, es wird jedoch erwartet, dass die Anzahl der Betroffenen in diesen Ländern durch die rasche Alterung der Bevölkerung in Zukunft überproportional stark ansteigen wird (Prince et al. 2015). Von den jährlich etwa 9,9 Millionen Neuerkrankungen werden 63% in Ländern mit niedrigem und mittleren Einkommen verzeichnet. Laut WHO (2017) wird die Anzahl der Menschen mit Demenz bis 2050 weltweit auf rund 251 Millionen Person ansteigen (WHO 2017). Diese erwartete Steigerung wird Länder mit Gesundheitssystemen die nicht vorbereitet und unterfinanziert sind besonders hart treffen (Rodriguez et al. 2008). Speziell in Ländern mit niedrigen Einkommen muss darüber hinaus mit einer hohen Anzahl an HIV-assoziierten Demenzen gerechnet werden. Die Häufigkeit der HIV-assoziierten Demenzerkrankungen ist in den letzten Jahren in der DR zwar leicht gesunken, bei mangelnder Inanspruchnahme von medikamentösen Therapien und einer hohen Prävalenz von Infizierten bleibt die Anzahl der Betroffenen jedoch hoch (Rosca et al. 2012).

Eine weitere Problematik zeigt sich beim Zusammenhang zwischen Demenz und Gewichtsverlust, da hierdurch das Mortalitätsrisiko steigt. Ein Vergleich von Prävalenzdaten zum Thema Gewichtsverlust und Demenz hat aufgezeigt, dass die Dominikanischen Republik in der Vergleichsgruppe mit 26% die höchste Prävalenz aufwies, während China die geringste Prävalenz (2%) zu verzeichnen wart (Albanese et al. 2013). Zudem sind auch andere, klassische, Demenzsymptome von Bedeutung. Hierzu zählen neben Einschränkungen in der Orientierung und Verhaltensänderungen bei steigender Lebenserwartung aber auch die Multimorbidität sowie Einschränkungen in Bereich der körperlichen Bewegung inklusive der Sturzproblematik. Hierzu kann aktuell nur auf sehr wenige Studien aus Ländern mit niedrigen und mittleren Einkommen zurückgegriffen werden, was den erhöhten Forschungsbedarf deutlich aufzeigt (Llibre Rodríguez 2013, Arinzechi et al. 2016).

Da das Gesundheits- und Sozialsystem der Dominikanischen Republik nur wenigen Einwohnern in vollem Umfang zur Verfügung steht, führt dies dazu, dass die Betreuung und pflegerischen Versorgung von Erkranken von den Familien und dem sozialen Umfeld getragen werden muss. Dadurch entstehenden hohe Belastung innerhalb der familiären Strukturen. Insbesondere wird vermehrt das Auftreten von Stress, Angst und Depressionen beschrieben. Hauptproblem ist neben der mangelnden Unterstützung durch das Gesundheitssystem vor allem der Mangel an ambulanten und wohnortnahen Unterstützungsangeboten (Medrano et al. 2014).

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial